Chromatic Music Scale

An octave is a sequence of 12 notes, given by the recurrence relation:

f_{x+1} = f_{x} * \sqrt[12]{2^{x}}

with $x:\mathbb{N}\mapsto[0,11]$ and starting from the note $A$ with $f_{0}=440Hz$.

The following table is an octave table (sequence of pitches) with notes corresponding to frequencies. Each successive frequency is determined by multiplying the previously obtained frequency with $\sqrt[12]{2} \approx 1.05946$.

Note Frequency (Hz)
$A$ 440.00
$A\sharp$/$B\flat$ 466.16
B 493.88
C 523.25
$C\sharp$/$D\flat$ 554.37
D 587.33
$D\sharp$/$E\flat$ 622.25
E 659.26
F 698.46
$F\sharp$/$G\flat$ 739.99
G 783.99
$G\sharp$/$A\flat$ 830.61

the next frequency $880.00$ corresponds to the note $A$ in the next octave.

fuss/physics/acoustics.txt ยท Last modified: 2017/02/22 18:30 (external edit)

Access website using Tor Access website using i2p

For the copyright, license, warranty and privacy terms for the usage of this website please see the license, privacy and plagiarism pages.